MOC-FLOYD VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS - - - - - December 11, 2023

The MOC-Floyd Valley Board of Education met on the above date at the central administration office for its regular monthly meeting as well as the organizational meeting with all board members present. Also present were Superintendent Adams, Secretary Dykstra, and the press.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Jager.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink and supported by Koerselman to approve the agenda with the addition of approving engagement with Eide Bailey LLP to provide tax consulting. Motion carried unanimously.

An update was given on the high school renovation project.

Recognition was given as follows:

- All-State Football, 2nd Team Ahman Langton offensive utility player
- All-District Volleyball Maya Immeker and Tierney Huss
- All-State Volleyball, 4th Team Tierney Huss
- District FCCLA Officers Jackie Ramirez and Allison Heller
- McDonald's Teacher of the Month Trish Sandbulte
- Iowa Department of Education, Social Studies Leadership Committee Shane Williams

Motion was made by Reyes, supported by Kleinhesselink and carried unanimously to approve the following consent items:

- November 13 school board minutes
- Rills
- Financial Statements
- Contract for Mark Gunderson as part-time director of maintenance and grounds with the rate of pay being the cost of single health insurance and any additional time needed to assist with grounds and snow removal at a rate of \$18.99 per hour
- Contract for Dee Van Dyke as classroom aide for 7.00 hours per day at a salary of \$17.09 per hour based upon the 3rd step of the 2023-24 non-certified salary schedule
- Temporary contract for Sally Thompson as a long-term substitute teacher at a salary of \$37,175 for the second semester of the 2023-24 school year

Results of the recent school board election were heard. There were 782 votes cast for John Fernstrum for Director District #1 to which he was elected. There were 787 votes for Amy Kleinhesselink for Director District #2 to which she was re-elected and there were 772 votes for Shane Jager for Director District #4 to which he was re-elected. Motion by Reyes, supported by Koerselman to accept the results of the Abstract of Votes. Motion carried unanimously. See attachment.

Secretary Dykstra then administered the oath of office of Director of District #1 to John Fernstrum, to Amy Kleinhesselink as Director District #2, and to Shane Jager as Director of District #4.

Secretary Dykstra reviewed the Treasurer's Report with the board. Motion by Kleinhesselink and supported by Koerselman to accept this financial report for Fiscal Year 2022-2023. Motion carried unanimously.

At 7:36 p.m. the organizational meeting was immediately called to order with all board members

present.

The floor was then open for nominations for the office of president. Motion was made by Fernstrum and supported by Koerselman to nominate Shane Jager as president of the board for the 2023-24 term to which he was elected. A nomination for Amy Kleinhesselink as vice-president of the board for the 2023-24 term was made by Koerselman and supported by Fernstrum to which she was elected. President Jager and Vice-President Kleinhesselink were administered the oath of office by Secretary Dykstra.

Motion was made by Reyes and supported by Koerselman to approve the monthly board meeting time and location as follows: The regular monthly meeting date is set for the second Monday of every month, except for election years when the meeting will be held following the canvass of votes, to be held at the board room of the MOC-Floyd Valley Central Administration Office, unless otherwise noted. Meetings will commence at 5:00 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Kleinhesselink, supported by Reyes to name the Sioux County Capital-Democrat as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Kleinhesselink and supported by Koerselman to appoint Steve Avery as school district attorney for the 2023-24 fiscal year. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink, supported by Reyes and carried unanimously to appoint the following members to serve on the following committees:

IASB Legislative Delegate Amy Kleinhesselink Sioux County Conference Board Christine Koerselman

Negotiations Committee Shane Jager and Amy Kleinhesselink

OC Area Day Care 28E Amy Kleinhesselink

Motion by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman to appoint a representative from Iowa State Bank as school board treasurer of the 2023-24 fiscal year. Motion carried unanimously.

A written report was received by Shane Williams for the social studies team.

A written technology report was received by Ryan Noteboom.

Written monthly progress reports were provided by the building principals.

Motion made by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman and carried unanimously to approve Board Policies 401.1, 501.1-503.2, 503.8, and 701.05R1.

The board reviewed the Return-to-Learn plan.

A tentative district calendar was presented for the 2024-2025 school year.

The first reading was presented of the following board policies: 503.3-503.7 and 504.1-505.8.

Motion by Reyes, supported by Koerselman to approve the 2024-25 band trip. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink and supported by Koerselman to authorize the district's administration to submit a request to the School Budget Review Committee for a modified supplemental

amount of \$69,937 for open enrolled out students who were not included in the district's previous year certified enrollment count. Fernstrum-aye, Jager-aye, Kleinhesselink-aye, Koerselman-aye, Reyes-aye.

Motion by Reyes, supported by Koerselman to authorize the district's administration to submit a request to the School Budget Review Committee for a modified supplemental amount of \$48,132 related to the English language learning program for students who have exceeded five years of weighting that are included on the Fall 2023 certified enrollment headcount. Fernstrum-aye, Jager-aye, Kleinhesselink-aye, Koerselman-aye, Reyes-aye.

Motion by Kleinhesselink supported by Koerselman to approve engagement with Eide Bailey LLP to provide tax consulting services in pursuit of qualifying energy credits and incentives. Motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment at 8:25 p.m.		
Shane Jager, President	Kim Dykstra, Secretary	