MOC-FLOYD VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOL - - - - - February 12, 2024

The MOC-Floyd Valley Board of Education met on the above date at the Central Administration Office for its regular monthly meeting with all board members in attendance. Also present were Superintendent Adams, Secretary Dykstra, building principals, and the press.

President Jager called the meeting to order at 4:58 p.m.

Motion was made by Koerselman and supported by Reyes to approve the agenda as mailed. Carried unanimously.

Citizen comment was received from Mark and Rita Hansen regarding student safety on the buses.

Correspondence was received as follows:

- Letter of resignation from Sandy Woudstra as elementary school teacher
- Letter of resignation from Ruth Hoogeveen as middle school teacher
- Letter of resignation from Frank Van Es as assistant transportation director
- Letter of resignation from Marcia De Graaf as elementary school principal
- Letter of resignation from Zach Schaver as student council sponsor

Recognition was given as follows:

- Large Group Speech District and State ratings
- All-State Large Group Speech participants
- Girls' State Wrestling Eunice Reyna Roc, Kasee Huss, Addaly Miller, Gabby Topete Anzua, Teresa Felipe-Andres
- Boys' State Wrestling Irving Ramirez

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman and carried unanimously to approve the following consent items:

- January 8 school board minutes
- Bills
- Financial Statements
- Resignation from Sandy Woudstra as elementary school teacher, effective at the end of the school year
- Resignation from John Mirande as high school teacher, effective at the end of the school year
- Resignation from Ruth Hoogeveen as middle school teacher, effective at the end of the school year
- Resignation from Frank Van Es as assistant transportation director, effective at the end of the school year
- Resignation from Marcia De Graaf as elementary school principal, effective at the end of the school year
- Resignation from Zach Schaver as student council sponsor, effective at the end of the school year
- Request from Kristen Puttmann to transfer from full-time instructional coach to .5 FTE instructional coach and .5 FTE Title I reading teacher effective with the 2024-25 school year
- Request from Jen Van Es to transfer from 1st grade to 2nd grade effective with the 2024-25 school year
- Request from Kayla List to transfer from .5 FTE Title I reading teacher and .5 FTE transitional kindergarten teacher to 1st grade at effective with the 2024-25 school year
- Open enrollment of Emma Mercado Castelan out of the MOC-Floyd Valley Community

- School District into the Sioux Center Community School District for the 2024-2025 school year for next fourteen years
- Open enrollment of Halynn Schoneman into the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District out of the Sheldon Community School District for the 2023-2024 school year for next nine years
- Open enrollment of Connor Warntjes into the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School
 District out of the Boyden-Hull Community School District for the 2024-2025 school year
 for next fourteen years
- Open enrollment of Ariatha, Estefany, Aida, and Jimena Castellanos out of the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District into the Sioux Center Community School District for the 2023-2024 school year for next three, five, eleven, and twelve years
- Open enrollment of Skylar and Bentley Hoffman out of MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District into the Sioux Center Community School District for the 2023-2024 school year for the next seven and eight years
- Name the Sioux County Capital-Democrat as the official newspaper for 2023-2024
- Appoint Kim Dykstra as school district secretary and a representative of Iowa State Bank as school district treasurer. Secretary Dykstra was administered the oath of office
- Appoint Steve Avery as school district attorney for the 2023-2024 fiscal year
- Appoint Karina Nonnemacher as Right-to-Know Coordinator
- Appoint the building prinicpals as Sexual Harassment Officer and Child Abuse Investigator
- Appoint Jackie Olson and Scott Starkweather as Alternate Child Abuse Investigators
- Appoint Deputy Nate Huizenga, Sioux County Sheriff's Office, as the Level II Child Abuse Investigator
- Appoint Karina Nonnemacher as the Harassment Hearing Officer
- Appoint Mike Mulder as the Alternate Harassment Hearing Officer
- Appoint Russ Adams as Equity Coordinator
- Appoint Larissa Thorne as Title IX Coordinator
- Appoint Liz Koenig as Homeless Coordinator
- Appoint Marcia De Graaf as District 504 Coordinator

Graham Forbes, representing Williams and Company, presented the 2022-23 audit report. Motion by Kleinhesselink and supported by Reyes to approve the 2022-23 audit report. Motion carried unanimously.

Sharon Foughty shared the vocal music team report to the board.

Chris Lang and Abby Vande Kieft provided the board with a district science report.

John Van Wyk, transportation director, presented the annual district transportation report.

Bids were received for the purchase of a new bus:

- Thomas \$181,324 for a 260 hp motor and \$3,000 for front air suspension
- Blue Bird \$176,056 for a 280 hp motor and includes front air suspension.

Motion by Kleinhesselink, supported by Reyes to approve the purchase of a new bus from Blue Bird for \$176,056 to be received in July of 2025. Motion carried unanimously.

A monthly progress report was given by the building principals. Principal Mulder presented the District Career Academic Plan.

An update was given on the health insurance renewal for the 2024-2025 fiscal year.

Superintendent Adams gave a legislative update.

Information was shared on the Director of the Iowa Department of Education, Mckenzie Snow's upcoming visit to the district.

Motion by Koerselman, supported by Kleinhesselink and carried unanimously to approve Board Policies 506.1-508.2.

The board reviewed the Return-to-Learn plan.

The first reading was made for Board Policies 600-603.11, 502.07, 605.06, 605.08, 701.01-701.01, 703.1, 703.2, and 713.

Motion by Fernstrum, supported by Koerselman to approve the Resolution Authorizing the Redemption of General Obligation School Bonds, Series 2023, Dated June 27, 2023, Approving an Escrow Agent Agreement, and Levying a Tax for Fiscal Year 2025 for the Redemption of General Obligation School Bonds, Series 2023, Dated June 27, 2023. Fernstrum-aye, Jager-aye, Kleinhesselink-aye, Koerselman-aye and Reyes-aye.

Adjournment 7:21 p.m.	
Shane Jager, President	Kim Dykstra, Secretary