MOC-FLOYD VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS - - - - - May 13, 2019

The MOC-Floyd Valley Board of Education met on the above date at the Central Administration Office for its regular monthly meeting with all board members in attendance, except Immeker and Reyes. Also present were Superintendent Adams, Secretary Dykstra, Leann Evenhuis and the press.

President Jager called the meeting to order at 4:34 p.m.

Motion was made by Koerselman and supported by Kleinhesselink to approve the agenda with the addition of the shared agreement with West Sioux. Motion carried unanimously.

Correspondence was received as follows:

- Letter from Walter Ver Steeg
- E-mail from Michelle Monsma
- Letter of resignation from Josie Moss
- Letter of resignation from Michaela Henriksen

Recognition was given as follows:

- Board Members for all the work they do on behalf of our students, staff, and constituents
- Orchestra Music Awards
 - o Jennifer Kraai Award Samantha Monsma
 - o National School Orchestra Award Nicholas Grossmann
 - Outstanding Senior Musician Samantha Monsma
- Choir Music Awards
 - o Jennifer Kraai Award William Minnick and Allison Haverdink
 - National School Choir Award Jadeyn Veltkamp
 - o John Philip Sousa Award Samantha Monsma
- Band Music Awards
 - o Jennifer Kraai Award Luke Andres and Brooke Venema
 - o Louis Armstrong Award Leo Rodriguez
 - Woody Herman Award Allison Haverdink
- Conference Track Results
- Regional Boys' Golf Results Justin Schipper and Kyle Christy are moving on
- State-Qualifying Track Meet
 - o Emily Haverdink 1500m & 3000m
 - o Jakob Van Der Werff 3200m & 1500m
 - Sam May 800m
 - Claire Yaw 400m hurdles

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman and carried unanimously to approve the following consent items:

- April 8 school board minutes
- Bills
- Financial Statements
- Letter of resignation from Michaela Henriksen as a middle school aide effective at the end of this contract year
- Letter of resignation from Josie Moss as high school assistant volleyball coach effective at the end of this contract year
- Contract for Molly Bomgaars as classroom teacher at a salary of \$43,000 plus \$5,570 for 25

extra contract days for a total salary of \$48,570

• Contracts for 2019-2020 TLC positions, see attached

Jack Bonnecroy, assistant director for technology and transportation, shared some updates with communications throughout the district.

A presentation from the Futures at Work class was shared with the board.

Student Greg Whitmore shared his Eagle Scout project presentation that he worked on with the school nurses.

Reyes joined the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink, supported by Reyes and carried unanimously to approve the following Board Policies:

Board Policy Title:	Compensation for Expenses	Code No. 205.1
Board Policy Title:	Membership in State and National Associations	Code No. 205.2
Board Policy Title:	General Rules	Code No. 205.3
Board Policy Title:	New Board Member Orientation	Code No. 206.1
Board Policy Title:	Board Member Orientation	Code No. 206.1E
Board Policy Title:	Organizational Chart	Code No. 206.2
Board Policy Title:	School Board Member Liability	Code No. 206.3
Board Policy Title:	Allergy Management Policy	Code No. 504.18
Board Policy Title:	Food Allergy Management Policy (FAMPP)	Code No. 504.18R

Superintendent Adams gave a legislative update as the 2019 Legislative Session has ended.

Superintendent Adams shared a draft of the district emergency plan and large event emergency plan.

The district foci, goals, and indicators end of the year report was shared with the board.

Superintendent Adams shared information about the Iowa Instructional Framework.

The first reading of Board Policies 401.2-401.4 was presented.

Motion by Koerselman and supported by Reyes to approve that fees for online nutrition fund payments be passed on to the end user effective July 1, 2019. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Reyes, supported by Koerselman to approve the purchase of a gas tilting skillet braising pan for Orange City Elementary from Martin Bros for \$18,801.12. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman and carried unanimously to approve the list of 2019 graduates, per the graduation requirements as established by the Board of Education:

Anthony Daniel Agnew	Amber Marie Hathaway	Valeria Garcia Ramirez
Diego Alainz	Allison Jean Haverdink	Sergio Amilcar Ramos Morales
Gregory Jay Albers	Emily Shae Hayungs	Christian Lee Bruks Randell
Luke Robin Andres	Kristin Faith Heemstra	Karen Itzel Rivera Pichardo
Brenda Noemi Anzua	Zoe Mickell Heemstra	Estella Marie Rodriguez
Kylie Marie Beltman	Shawn Thomas Hexamer	Leonard Rodriguez

Yassine Ramadan Ben Saida	Austin Lane Hoffman	Dulce Fatima Salcedo Tapia
Ashley Lyn Benson	August Robert Hubbard	Natalie Kay Sampson
Kaitlyn Marie Bergsma	Josiah John Jansen	Joshua James Schleis
Clarissa Elizabeth Birkeland	Austin Blake Jeltema	Garrett William Scholtens
Karynna Nicole Bonestroo	Jordyn Elizabeth Jeltema	Jadeyn Nicole Schutt
Avery Jeanne Calsbeek	Jaren Lee Kellhower	Noah James Schuver-Fleming
Lindsay Michelle Clark	Courtney Ann Keunen	Alexandra Solano Deara
Madison Raye Cronin	Faith Lillian Klein	Roman Michael Stokes
Jacinda Joy Davis	Luke Michael Kleinhesselink	Kyle John Taylor
Emma Danielle De Groot	Alexis Marie Konz	Eli James TeGrotenhuis
Justin Christopher De Weerd	Elizabeth Ann Korver	Connor Lee Tullar
Christopher Jon Dekker	Keaton Joel Marker	Jakob Allen Van Der Werff
Davis Henry Duistermars	Norelia Guadalupe Martinez	Christa Kay Van Donkelaar
Morgan Marie Feenstra	Fernando Gabriel Mercado Manrique	Tori May Van Ravenswaay
Gage Talon Fisher	William Paul Minnick	Cordell Andres Vande Vegte
Riley John Frederes	Samantha Ann Monsma	Jadeyn Faith Veltkamp
Jacob Nikolas Gabel	Nathalie Alexis Moss	Brooke Madison Venema
Jesus Efrain Soto Gonzalez	Alex Tate Mulder	Kayla Anne Vlietstra
Morgan Elizabeth Gravenish	Ellie Marie North	Julia Kay Wielenga
Nicholas Jonathan Grossmann	Jimmy Okihn Jr	McKinley Anne Williams
Erin Elizabeth Hagar	Breanna Janae Oolman	Maegann Joe'l Wolgen
Tanner Jay Hansen	Carter Alan Pennings	Iris Jackquelin Zavala Anzua
Emma Lee Harper	Kaden Lee Pottebaum	Jacqueline Zavala

Motion by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman to approve the AEA Food Purchasing Agreement for the 2019-20 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Sandy Groom-Meeks shared the District Technology Scope and Sequence. Motion by Koerselman and supported by Kleinhesselink to adopt the District Technology Scope and Sequence. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Koerselman and supported by Kleinhesselink to approve a sharing agreement with West Sioux for bowling for 2019-20. Motion carried unanimously.

Presentations were given by 3 different architectural/engineering firms for the new elementary school project. Motion by Kleinhesselink, supported by Reyes to authorize the superintendent to negotiate a suitable agreement with the architectural/engineering firms in the order of preference as identified by the board. Motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment at 9:38 p.m.	
Shane Jager, President	Kim Dykstra, Secretary