MOC-FLOYD VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS - - - - - December 14, 2020

The MOC-Floyd Valley Board of Education met on the above date at the central administration office for its regular monthly meeting as well as the annual meeting with all board members present except Koerselman. Kleinhesselink was present electronically. Also present were Superintendent Adams, Secretary Dykstra and the press.

The meeting was called to order at 5:01 p.m. by President Jager.

Motion was made by Reyes and supported by De Jong to approve the agenda with the addition of the first reading of the Assistance Animal Policy. Motion carried unanimously.

President Jager announced that this is the time, place and date to hold a hearing on the proposed issuance of School Infrastructure Sales, Services, and Use Revenue Bonds. Since there were no objectors, the president declared the hearing closed.

President Jager announced that this is the time, place and date to hold a public hearing on the issuance of bid documents for Bid Issuance #2 – Precast Supply & Geothermal Wellfield for the Elementary School Project. Since there were no objectors, the president declared the hearing closed.

At 5:18 p.m., Koerselman joined the meeting.

Motion was made by Koerselman, supported by Reyes and carried unanimously to approve the following consent items:

- November 9 school board minutes
- Rille
- Financial Statements
- Contract for Meagan Wallinga as middle school softball coach for the 2020-2021 school year at a salary of \$2,022 based upon Level I of the 2020-2021 supplemental salary schedule
- Open enrollment of Riley and Aidan Roozeboom into the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District out of the Sheldon Community School District for the 2020-21 school year for the next four and six year

An update was given on the new elementary building project by CMBA and W.A. Klinger.

Secretary Dykstra reviewed the Treasurer's Report with the board.

Grant Hegstad provided an update on the work he has been doing to expand opportunities for students and partnerships with business and communities.

Kleinhesselink left the meeting at 6:37 p.m.

Motion was made by De Jong, seconded by Koerselman and carried unanimously to approve the following board policies:

Board Policy Title: Student GovernmentCode No. 503.1Board Policy Title: Student ActivitiesCode No. 503.2Board Policy Title: Student PublicationsCode No. 503.3

Board Policy Title: Student Social Events	Code No. 503.4
Board Policy Title: Attendance at Events Outside of School	Code No. 503.5
Board Policy Title: Honors and Awards (Scholastic)	Code No. 503.6
Board Policy Title: Open Nights	Code No. 503.7

At 6:40 p.m. the annual meeting was called to order with all board members present except Kleinhesselink.

The floor was then open for nominations for the office of president. Motion was made by Koerselman and supported by De Jong to nominate Shane Jager as president of the board for the 2020-21 term to which he was elected. A nomination for Amy Kleinhesselink as vice-president of the board for the 2020-21 term was made by De Jong and supported by Koerselman to which she was elected. President Jager was administered the oath of office by Secretary Dykstra. Vice-President Kleinhesselink will be administered the oath of office at another time within ten days of her appointment.

Motion was made by Reyes and supported by Koerselman to approve the monthly board meeting time and location as follows: The regular monthly meeting date is set for the second Monday of every month, except for election years when the meeting will be held following the canvass of votes, to be held at the board room of the MOC-Floyd Valley Central Administration Office, unless otherwise noted. Meetings will commence at 5:00 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by De Jong, supported by Reyes to name the Sioux County Capital-Democrat as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by De Jong and supported by Reyes to appoint Steve Avery as school district attorney for the 2020-21 fiscal year. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Reyes, supported by Koerselman and carried unanimously to appoint the following members to serve on the following committees:

IASB Legislative Delegate Amy Kleinhesselink Sioux County Conference Board Christine Koerselman

Negotiations Committee Shane Jager and Amy Kleinhesselink Facilities & Resources Planning Committee Shane Jager and Amy Kleinhesselink

OC Area Day Care 28E Amy Kleinhesselink

The board reviewed the Return-to-Learn plan.

Superintendent Adams shared with the board about the IASB policy review.

The first reading of Board Policies 105 and 503.9-503.12 were presented.

Bids were sent out for a new school bus. Two bids were received: Thomas for \$133,148 and Blue Bird for \$136,720. The Blue Bird bus has a 280-horsepower engine and Thomas bus has a 260-horsepower engine, so the transportation director and assistant director feel the difference is worth the investment. Motion by Reyes, supported by De Jong to approve the purchase of a new 84 passenger school bus from Blue Bird for \$136,720. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by De Jong, supported by Reyes to approve the resolution supporting the proposed issuance

of approximately \$400,000 School Infrastructure Motion carried unanimously.	Sales, Services, and Use Tax Revenue Bonds.
Motion by Koerselman, supported by De Jong to Bid Issuance #2 – Precast Supply and Geotherma Motion carried unanimously.	approve the issuance of documents for bidding for al Wellfield for the elementary school project.
Adjournment at 7:24 p.m.	
Shane Jager, President	Kim Dykstra, Secretary