## MOC-FLOYD VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS - - - - December 13, 2021

The MOC-Floyd Valley Board of Education met on the above date at the central administration office for its regular monthly meeting as well as the organizational meeting with all board members present. Also present were Superintendent Adams, Secretary Dykstra, the principals and the press.

The meeting was called to order at 5:01 p.m. by President Jager.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink and supported by Reyes to approve the agenda as mailed. Motion carried unanimously.

President Jager announced that this is the time, place and date to hold a public hearing on the acceptance of bids for the middle school HVAC retrofit and high school commons cooling project. Since there were no objectors, the president declared the hearing closed.

Correspondence was received as follows:

• Letter of resignation from Karter Rohrbaugh as classroom teacher, middle school basketball coach and middle school track coach

Recognition was given as follows:

- All-State Football
  - o Luke Jeltema  $2^{nd}$  Team Punter
  - $\circ$  Josiah Bundt 3<sup>rd</sup> Team Defensive Lineman
  - National Honor Society Inductees

Motion was made by Reyes, supported by De Jong and carried unanimously to approve the following consent items:

- November 8 school board minutes
- Bills

•

- Financial Statements
- Resignation from Karter Rohrbaugh as classroom teacher, middle school basketball coach, and middle school track coach, effective at the end of this contract year
- Open enrollment of Parker Curiel into the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District out of the Boyden-Hull Community School District for the 2021-22 school year for the next three years
- Open enrollment of Brooklyn Dybedahl into the MOC-Floyd Valley Community School District out of the West Sioux Community School District for the 2021-22 school year for the next six years

Results of the recent school board election were heard. There were 363 votes cast for Mere Reyes for Director District #3 to which he was re-elected and there were 382 votes for Christine Koerselman for Director District #5 to which she was re-elected. See attachment.

Secretary Dykstra reviewed the Treasurer's Report with the board.

At 5:15 p.m. the organizational meeting was immediately called to order with all board members present.

Secretary Dykstra then administered the oath of office of Director of District #3 to Mere Reyes and to Christine Koerselman as Director of District #5.

The floor was then open for nominations for the office of president. Motion was made by Kleinhesselink and supported by Koerselman to nominate Shane Jager as president of the board for the 2021-22 term to which he was elected. A nomination for Amy Kleinhesselink as vice-president of the board for the 2021-22 term was made by Koerselman and supported by Reyes to which she was elected. President Jager and Vice-President Kleinhesselink were administered the oath of office by Secretary Dykstra.

Motion was made by Reyes and supported by De Jong to approve the monthly board meeting time and location as follows: The regular monthly meeting date is set for the second Monday of every month, except for election years when the meeting will be held following the canvass of votes, to be held at the board room of the MOC-Floyd Valley Central Administration Office, unless otherwise noted. Meetings will commence at 5:00 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Kleinhesselink, supported by Koerselman to name the Sioux County Capital-Democrat as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Kleinhesselink and supported by De Jong to appoint Steve Avery as school district attorney for the 2021-22 fiscal year. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Koerselman, supported by Reyes and carried unanimously to appoint the following members to serve on the following committees:

IASB Legislative Delegate	Amy Kleinhesselink
Sioux County Conference Board	Christine Koerselman
Negotiations Committee	Shane Jager and Amy Kleinhesselink
Facilities & Resources Planning Committee	Shane Jager and Amy Kleinhesselink
OC Area Day Care 28E	Amy Kleinhesselink

Rachel Honken provided the board with a K-5 social studies report.

A technology report was given by Ryan Noteboom, technology director, and Sandy Groom-Meeks, technology instructional coach.

A monthly progress report was given by the building principals.

Motion was made by Koerselman, seconded by De Jong and carried unanimously to approve the following board policies:

Board Policy Title: Summer Program Bus Service	Code No. 702.6
Board Policy Title: Transportation Insurance Program	Code No. 702.7
Board Policy Title: Late Students on Bus	Code No. 702.8
Board Policy Title: Non-Public Transportation	Code No. 702.9
Board Policy Title: Bus Operation in Inclement Weather	Code No. 702.10
Board Policy Title: School Bus Safety, Instruction &	Code No. 702.11
Passenger Restraints	

The board reviewed the Return-to-Learn plan.

An update was given on the new elementary building project.

The first reading of Board Policies 704.1-801.5 was presented.

Bids were sent for the middle school roofing project and only one was received from Four Way Contracting. Motion by De Jong, supported by Reyes to approve the from Four Way Contracting for \$131,605. Motion carried unanimously.

Bids were sent for the high school kitchen flooring project and only one was received from Furniture Mart. Motion by Kleinhesselink and supported by Koerselman to accept the bid from Furniture Mart for \$35,688.24. Motion carried unanimously.

Bids were received for the middle school HVAC retrofit and high school commons cooling project: C.W. Suter for \$1,070,900 and Walstra Plumbing & Heating Inc for \$754,255. Motion by De Jong, supported by Koerselman to approve the bid from Walstra Plumbing & Heating Inc for \$754,255. Motion carried unanimously.

At 6:48 p.m., motion was made by De Jong and supported by Reyes to enter closed session as provided by Chapter 21.5(1)(e) of the open meetings law to discuss whether to conduct hearings to suspend or expel a student, unless an open session is requested by the student or a parent or guardian of the student if the student is a minor. Roll call vote: Jager-aye, Reyes-aye, De Jong-aye, Koerselman-aye and Kleinhesselink-aye.

At 6:54 p.m., the meeting reconvened in regular session.

Motion was made by Kleinhesselink and supported by Reyes to have student serve an out-of-school suspension through January 28, 2022. Roll call vote: Jager-aye, Reyes-aye, De Jong-aye, Koerselman-aye and Kleinhesselink-aye.

Adjournment at 7:05 p.m.

Shane Jager, President

Kim Dykstra, Secretary