## MOC-FLOYD VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOL - - - - November 18, 2019

The MOC-Floyd Valley Board of Education met on the above date at the Central Administration Office for its regular monthly meeting with all board members present, except Jager. Also in attendance were Superintendent Adams, Secretary Dykstra and the press.

The meeting was called to order at 5:06 p.m. by Vice-President Kleinhesselink.

Motion was made by De Jong and supported by Reyes to approve the agenda with the tabling of the general obligation bond language. Motion carried unanimously.

## Correspondence was received as follows:

- Ballot for the Northwest AEA Board of Directors for District 4
- Invitation to Legislative Forum on December 2 to be held at the MOC-Floyd Valley High School

## Recognition was given as follows:

- Pride & Prejudice Directors Nicole Mena and Amanda Lemke and the cast and crew
- All-State Musicians
  - Hannah Hulstein String Bass
  - o Tessa Burg Choir
  - o Rachel Jorgensen Choir
  - o Ashlyn Vander Stelt Choir
  - o Ethan Hexamer Choir
- Iowa Jr High Honors Orchestra
  - Bianca Dokter
- Middle School Honor Band
  - Hannah McCoppin Flute
  - o Breeah Miller Clarinet
  - Micah Schmidt Alto Sax
  - o Elin Van Der Werff Alto Sax
  - o Joyce Zheng Trumpet
  - o Ian Van Der Werff Trombone
  - o Taliya Van Holland Trombone
  - o Ian Grossmann Percussion
  - o Makenna Sloan Clarinet
  - Leah Taylor Clarinet
  - Jaylee Kamerman Alto Sax
  - o Cameron Hofmeyer Trumpet
  - O Hunter De Jong Trumpet
  - o Charlie Moeller Trombone
  - o Daniel Bos Tuba
  - o Luke Van Wyk Percussion
- Football All District
  - o Dalton Jacobsma, Breckin Bomgaars, Chadon De Haan, Michael Ruden
  - o Honorable Mention Mason Vaas, Jacob Kramer, Dexter Wiese
  - o Academic All-District Aaron Te Grotenhuis, Keegan Douma, Dalton Jacobsma,

## Chadon De Haan

- Academic All-District Cheerleading
  - o Tessa Burg, Madisyn Mulder, Kassie Diehl
- Volleyball All-Conference
  - o 1<sup>st</sup> Team –Jazlin De Haan (unanimous)
  - o 2<sup>nd</sup> Team Karli Bomgaars
  - o 2rd Team Carla Martinez
  - Honorable Mention Kiernan Groendyke
- Siouxland Academic All-Conference
  - Volleyball Jenna Aalbers
  - o Cross Country Josiah Bonestroo (manager), Julia Howe, BreElle Van Zee
- National Honor Society Inductees
  - Hailey Bergsma, Olivia Brunsting, Grace Dahl, Aden De Jong, Austin De Kock, Shane De Vries, Korey Ditsworth, Dakota Einerwold, Mikayla Gloden, Kiernan Groendyke, Emma Haley, Sarah Hummel, McKenna Kelderman, Taryn Nothem, Brittini Oolman, Jorgen Pottebaum, Rebekah Powell, Katelyn Reuvers, Natasha Sampson

Motion was made by Koerselman, supported by Reyes and carried unanimously to approve the following consent items:

- October 14 school board minutes
- Bills
- Financial Statements
- Contract for Brian Wede as head baseball coach for the 2019-2020 school year at a salary of \$5,678 based upon Level IV of the 2019-20 supplemental salary schedule
- Contract for Mia Hoogeveen as assistant middle school girls' basketball coach for the 2019-2020 school year at a salary of \$1,503 based upon Level I of the 2019-20 supplemental salary schedule
- Contract for Breana Schuiteman as middle school softball coach for the 2019-2020 school year at a salary of \$2,004 based upon Level I of the 2019-20 supplemental salary schedule
- Ben Vos as volunteer assistant boys' basketball coach
- Macy Kuehler as volunteer assistant wrestling coach

Val Stokes and her team of students from Northwestern College provided the board with a brief presentation on food insecurities to help understand the challenges of students and families.

The board heard a written progress report of the district foci and goals from the building principals.

Motion was made by De Jong, supported by Koerselman and carried unanimously to approve the following board policies as revised.

Board Policy Title: Family & Medical Leave	Code No. 404.8
Board Policy Title: Family & Medical Leave	Code No. 404.8R
Board Policy Title: Substance-Free Workplace	Code No. 404.10
Board Policy Title: Substance-Free Workplace	Code No. 404.10R
Board Policy Title: Pay Deductions	Code No. 404.11
Board Policy Title: Pay Deductions	Code No. 404.11R

Superintendent Adams gave a report on the current financial status of the district.

Information was received on the Iowa Statewide Assessments of Student Progress.

The first reading of Board Policies 404.15-405.4 was presented.

Motion by De Jong, supported by Koerselman to approve the substitute para-educator pay rate at \$13.25 per hour effective for the December payroll. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Koerselman and supported by Reyes to cast the district ballot for Patrick Murphy to serve as the Northwest AEA Board of Directors for District 4. Motion carried unanimously.

The board tabled the discussion of the general obligation bond petition language until the December 9, 2019 meeting.

Adjournment at 6:05 p.m.	
Amy Kleinhesselink, Vice-President	Kim Dykstra, Secretary